University of Victoria (B.C.). Commission on Academic Governance

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

University of Victoria (B.C.). Commission on Academic Governance

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Commission was established by President Farquhar in January 1972 to study and make recommendations regarding methods of academic governance at UVic. The Commission invited submissions from interested individuals and groups. The establishment of the Commission followed the resignation of President Partridge over the credibility of his academic qualifications. Although the Faculty Association, Alma Mater Society, and the Graduate Student Society refused to participate, some individuals from these groups made submissions. The commission consisted of five faculty members and the University Librarian, Dr. S.A. Jennings as chair, and Prof. A.E. Loft as secretary. The Commission was often referred to as the "Jennings Commission".


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places