University of Victoria (B.C.). Board of Governors

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

University of Victoria (B.C.). Board of Governors

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Board of Governors was established in 1963, and is responsible for the management, administration and control of the business and affairs of the university. The Chancellors of the Board include: Joseph B. Clearihue, 1963-66; Richard B. Wilson, 1967-69; Roderick L. Haig-Brown, 1970-72; Robert T.D. Wallace, 1973-78; Ian McTaggart Cowan, 1979-84; William C. Gibson, 1985-90; and Hon. Robert G. Rogers, 1990-present. The University Secretary is responsible for the records of the Board.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places