Salmon Arm Little Theatre Association

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Salmon Arm Little Theatre Association

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



A meeting was held December 27, 1939 at the home of Mrs. A.D. Meek to create the "Salmon Arm Little Theatre Association." Officers elected included President Tom Prescott, Vice President Lois Aitcheson, Secretary-Treasurer E. Doe. D. Thomson was responsible for scenery and Elsie Buchan for costumes. The group practiced in the local high school. Performance proceeds were donated to the Canadian Red Cross Society. The group was a member of the BC Drama Association and the UBC Play Lending Library. A set of bylaws titled "Rules and Constitution" was adopted in 1941.

A group of interested people met in 1946 to consider the revival of the former Little Theatre Association. The executive included T. Prescott, Fred Gorse, Miss H. Chambers, H.M Bigwood and Mrs. Yerburgh. The purpose of the club was to produce dramatic, operatic and musical plays and sketches. Members re-drafted a constitution and by-laws.


Salmon Arm, B.C.

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

MS 64 (Salmon Arm Museum)

Maintained by

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion


  • English



Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places