Nanaimo (B.C.). Mayor

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Nanaimo (B.C.). Mayor

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Mayor of the City of Nanaimo is the chief executive officer of the municipal corporation. The provincial Municipal Act outlines the statutory duties of the position, which enable the Mayor to chair Nanaimo City Council, create and appoint members to committees of Council and to otherwise oversee the governing of the city. The following individuals have served in the position of Mayor, since incorporation of the city in 1874: Mark Bate, 1875-1879, 1881-1886, 1888-1889, 1898-1900; John Pawson, 1880; Richard Gibson, 1887; John Hilbert, 1890-1891; Andrew Haslam, 1892-1893; Edward Quennel, 1894-1895; Jeff H. Davidson, 1896-1897; William Manson, 1901-1904, Albert E. Planta, 1905-1908, 1910-1911, 1914-1915; Thomas Hodgson, 1909; John Shaw, 1912-1913; Frederick A. Busby, 1916, 1920-1924, 1927-1929; Henry McKenzie, 1917-1920; Victor B. Harrison, 1925-1926, 1938-1944; George A.B. Hall, 1930-1931; John Barsby, 1932-1937; George Muir, 1945-1949, 1953-1955; Earle C. Westwood, 1950-1952, 1956; Peter Maffeo, 1957-1967; Frank J. Ney, 1968-1984; Graeme Roberts, 1984-1986; Frank J. Ney, 1986-1990; Joy E. Leach, 1990-1993; Gary R. Korpan, 1993-Present.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places