Lytton (B.C.)

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Lytton (B.C.)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


On Nov. 30, 1944, at a meeting of the rate payers of Lytton, incorporation was discussed. At that time, Lytton had three commissioners: A.C. Whitley, Alex Strang, and M.A.Dyce, and a citizens committee: Dr. J.P. Ellis, Alex Strang, A. Medori, Chas. Arnold, and C. Rebagliati. It was decided that both groups merge, with A. Strang as chairman and M.A. Dyce as secretary. In the Letters Patent of May 3rd, 1945, John P. Ellis, Alex Strang and M.A.Dyce were appointed as Board of Commissioners of the municipality, who should hold office until the first annual election of Dec. 1945. On July 16, 1945, M.A. Dyce resigned as secretary because he was a non-property owner. The first Village clerk was B.G. Forsythe. Election day, 1945, the new commissioners elected were A.C. Whitley, F.R. Bailey and S.E. Keeble. A.C. Whitley was elected Chairman of the Board of Commissioners for the 1946 term. Miss Ann C. Rebagliati was hired as the Village Clerk. Over the years the longest serving Mayors have been Thomas Taverna, 1949-1969; Vic Loring 1974-1984; and Joseph A. Chute, 1985-1999.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places