Fonds - British Columbia Provincial Police: Port Essington BC fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

British Columbia Provincial Police: Port Essington BC fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1908- 1916 (Creation)
    British Columbia Provincial Police. Port Essington Office

Physical description area

Physical description

24 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

(1858- 1950)

Biographical history

A provincial police force was established in 1858 and later, when the province joined Confederation in 1871, the BC police reported to the Attorney-General. The constables were under the direction of the government agent of the district who reported to the Superintendent. The BC Provincial Police were taken over by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in August, 1950.

Custodial history

The records were given to Russell Johnson of Vancouver and then to Karl Olafson who donated them to the Archives on July 19, 2012.

Scope and content

The fonds consists of BC Provincial Police day books from Port Essington, (July to Dec 1908, 1910- 1916) which describe complaints, arrests, and reports, and also includes daily weather and steamship arrival and departures. Includes fishery record ledgers of license holders (1911 - 1912) in the Skeena River District listed by cannery (Balmoral, Claxton, Oceanic, British America, Inverness, Carlise, North Pacific, Cunningham, Dominion, Cassiar, Skeena River Commerical, Alexandria) and includes court cases and cash receipts. The 1908 court records lists convicting judges C.J. South , George B. Baillie, J.T. Williams, and E. Lorenz. Includes a letter book (January 1908 to July 1916) which contains outgoing correspondence concerning police and fishery reports, correspondence to government agents William Manson and J.H. McMullin, chief constables William H. Vickers, T.G. Wynn, W. Owen, and Ernest Gammon, reports to the Commissioner of Fisheries in Victoria by Provincial Fishery Overseers constables Alexander Forsyth and Kenneth F. Birchall, letters to Indian Agents Charles Clifton Perry in Metlakatla, and letters by George A. Shade, Deputy Mining Recorder. Also includes Lett's 1908 Indian & Colonial Almanac with reports, correspondence, and wanted criminals, and includes a police day book at the back. Names of constables include: C. Cullen, G. Fitzgerald, G.S. Flyn, J. Herring, Lewis, McDonald, George Leek, T.G. Wynn, Jones, Whitley, Phillipson, R. Leese, Rodgers, Gay, Carmichael, W. Owen, H. Abley.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Created on May 13, 2014


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres