Boy Scouts of Canada (Richmond, B.C.)

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Boy Scouts of Canada (Richmond, B.C.)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Boy Scouts were originally formed by Lord Robert Baden-Powell in 1907 in England, to serve as an educational movement for young men. The first Boy Scout group in Canada was established in 1908. The Canadian General Council of the Boy Scouts Association was incorporated on June 12, 1914, by an Act of the Canadian Parliament. The Canadian General Council was a branch of the Boy Scout Association of England until October 30, 1946, when it became an independent member of the Boy Scout World Conference. A subsequent amendment to the Act of Parliament changed the name to Boy Scouts of Canada. The aim of the Boy Scouts of Canada is to help boys develop their character as resourceful and responsible members of the community by providing opportunities and guidance for their mental, physical, social and spiritual development. Within the Boy Scouts of Canada, there are five levels: Beavers, ages 5-7 (introduced in 1974); Wolf Cubs, ages 8-10; Boy Scouts, ages 11-14; Venturers, ages 14-17; and Rovers, ages 17-23.;The first Boy Scout group in Richmond was formed under Charter #296 on May 18, 1936, under the direction of Mr. John (Jack) White and Mr. A.E. Miles, and was known as the 1st Richmond Scout Group. At the time of its incorporation, the group had eighteen members and met at St. Albans Church. In 1956, the Richmond District acquired a campsite property in Morris Valley. By 1968, the Richmond District was comprised of 19 Scout Groups, with a combined membership of over 1,200 boys. The Richmond District celebrated its 50th anniversary in 1986. The affairs of Boy Scouts of Canada are administered by executive committees at the National, Provincial, Regional and District levels. The Richmond District is within the Vancouver Coast Region of the Province of British Columbia. In 1970, the Boy Scouts of Canada, Richmond District was divided into sub-districts corresponding to the Eastern and Western sides of No. 3 Road. The Bogside District was located East of the No. 3 Road, while the Georgia District was located to the West.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes